Essay topics: The following is an excerpt from a letter sent by the principal of Greenwood School to the parents of all incoming kindergartners.

"We have decided to institute a policy of all-day kindergarten, instead of half-day kindergarten, for all students at Greenwood School. All-day kindergarten will help all our students achieve at their highest levels. The classes will be 'tracked'; so that average students are together, but high-achieving and low-achieving students will be put together in classes. In this way, the high-achieving students will be able to help pull the low-achieving students up to their level, so that no student falls behind. The all-day kindergarten classes will cover the same material previously covered in the half-day kindergarten classes, but will go at a slower speed to accommodate learning differences. In addition, the students will receive extra instruction in music, art, and physical education. One of the greatest benefits of the plan, however, is that students will be in a structured environment for longer hours, reducing the numbers of hours that otherwise would be wasted at home or in day care."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is about institute a policy of full-day kindergarten instead of half-day kindergarten to help the students achieving their highest level. The argument based on unwarranted assumptions and flawed for the following situation.

First of all, the author assumed that a full day school better than a half-day and helps make the students high achieving. The author does not provide any survey that the model is successful. it would be possible that that model failed at other schools. The author also does not provide any information about what were the flaws in the previous system.

The author claimed that the classes will be tracked so that average together in class and low and high achieving students together in a class. The assumption that the high achieving student helps low achieving student. The author does not provide in any information about on what basis the students categorized as low, average and high achieving. Students could bad at certain things, students bad at physical education could be good at study and music. The low achieving students might need the help of a teacher rather than the help of their classmates. Also, differentiate average students from the other students could hinders the overall growth of average students.

The author also claimed that the full-day kindergarten cover same material and students also received extra music, art, and education classes and also go slower speed to cover the differences, because the author assumed that students wasted extra hours at home or in daycare. The author does not provide any information about, on what basis the author concludes that the rest of the day was wasted. Also, the author does not provide any information was the previous speed and classes were not enough or parents complain about the classes. It might possible that stretching extra classes will be fatal. It might be possible that students attend extra classes once they went home. So, it is an unreasonable assumption that students waste their time at home or daycare.

The following argument is flawed and based on unfeasible reasons. The argument failed to provide any convincing data that prove that full day kinder garden better than half day. The author should provide more data to bolster the argument.