The following is an excerpt from a letter sent by the principal of Greenwood School to the parents of all incoming kindergartners.

"We have decided to institute a policy of all-day kindergarten, instead of half-day kindergarten, for all students at Greenwood School. All-day kindergarten will help all our students achieve at their highest levels. The classes will be 'tracked'; so that average students are together, but high-achieving and low-achieving students will be put together in classes. In this way, the high-achieving students will be able to help pull the low-achieving students up to their level, so that no student falls behind. The all-day kindergarten classes will cover the same material previously covered in the half-day kindergarten classes, but will go at a slower speed to accommodate learning differences. In addition, the students will receive extra instruction in music, art, and physical education. One of the greatest benefits of the plan, however, is that students will be in a structured environment for longer hours, reducing the numbers of hours that otherwise would be wasted at home or in day care."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo from Greenwood school, the principal concludes to increase the working hours of kindergarten students from half-day to all-day because this move would reduce the free time of students which are wasted. The author argues that the classes will be tracked based on the student’s acumen and intellectual capability which will allow in accommodating learning differences due to the slower pace of teaching which is a direct consequence of extended working hours. However, while the conclusion drawn by the principal might hold water, it rests upon several unwarranted assumptions that, if not substantiated dramatically weaken the argument. Thus, the following three presuppositions must hold good for proper evaluation of the argument.

First of all, the argument assumes that the students are futile in their free time which is completely unsubstantiated. It is possible that some of the students are spending their free time doing extra-curricular activities, such students value their free time and it’s not in their best interest to increase the working hours of schooling. If the author had provided evidence in the form of quantifiable numbers on how the students spend their free time, then the conclusion as implied in the argument can be fortified. However, the argument as of now due to its unwarranted assumptions doesn’t hold water.

A second reason that the argument is flawed is due to the assumption that making the classes ‘tracked’ will be in the benefit of every student. However, it is possible that this recommendation allows no scope of improvement for certain students. Perhaps, the average students track do not allow average students to improve as they don’t have any high-achieving peers to look upto. It is also possible due to the slower speed of teaching, the high-achieving students are not faced with challenging tasks and hence, are not able to learn up to their level. The argument could have been much clearer if the author had substantiated on how the classes track will help every student. However, If either one of the above mentioned scenarios hold true, the conclusion drawn by the author is significantly weakened.

Finally, the author assumes that school will be able to provide the best resources and instructions for music, art and physical education. Perhaps, the forte of teachers in Greenwood school do not match with the subjects of art and/or music but they are forced to take up these subjects due to an inherent lack of teachers specializing in art and/or music at the school. It is also possible that the school does not have the necessary facilities such as musical instruments, structural utilities (swimming pool, playground, etc). If the author had given evidence for the facilities present in the school and for the competence of the teachers in art and music, the credibility of the argument would have been strengthened significantly. However, the argument as of now due to its unwarranted assumptions doesn’t hold water.

In conclusion, the argument makes a number of unstated assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. If the principal is able to provide proper evidence for the aforementioned assumptions then, the proposed recommendation of changing half-day kindergarten to all-day kindergarten can be fully evaluated and adopted successfully.