"The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine: “Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."" -

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the editorial of national aeronautics magazine, the author concludes that we should invest in unmanned space flight due to the recent success of space probes in gathering information. The author argues that because of the low cost and risk factors associated with unmanned probes when compared to manned space flight, resources should be attributed in favor of it over manned space flight. However, the argument is rife with unstated assumptions and two important presuppositions must hold good for proper evaluation of the argument and adoption of the recommendation.

Firstly, the prompt’s premise - ‘Manned space flight is costly and dangerous’ is unsubstantiated. The author fails to provide any evidence or statistics for this statement. As the complexity of unmanned probes increases, the costs associated with it also increase exponentially because of the never ending need for reducing errors in each of its sub-components to improve the safety and quality of information gained. In contrast, the cost associated with manned space flight is almost constant over time, involving just the training and supplies cost for the astronauts. Also, with the improvement in sophisticated space technology and also due to stringent safety standards, the dangers of manned space flights are waned drastically. If the author had provided evidence in the form of quantifiable numbers for the costs and dangers, then the conclusion as implied in the argument can be fortified. However, the argument as of now due to its unwarranted assumptions doesn’t hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes that unmanned space probes are capable enough to do the same tasks as that of humans in space exploration. However, it is possible that some space exploration tasks cannot be done exclusively by space probes without the help of humans. For instance, consider the task of building the International Space Station (ISS) which required substantial amount of human efforts for successful completion. Such an arduous task cannot be completed by an unmanned probe. Thus, if the author had supported the assumption by citing an evidence for the capability of unmanned probes, the possibility of adopting the proposal is high. On the other hand, if the assumption turns out to be false, then the original argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument makes a number of unstated assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. If the author is able to provide proper evidence (perhaps in the form of a research study) for the aforementioned assumptions then, the proposed recommendation of investing our resources on unmanned space flight can fully evaluated and adopted.