Science has no meaning without religion

Running the gamut from the electricity we use to cook our food to the cars that we use to transport, all of which are a direct consequence of scientific theorems and results. The prompt recommends that the science behind these amenities have no meaning without religion. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that science does not need religion to have meaning for two important reasons.

To begin, science challenges various beliefs of religion and in the process engenders new religious beliefs. To illustrate this, it was widely believed that earth was flat by several religions before 20th century. However, scientific experiments proved contrary to the proclaimed belief that the earth was flat. One such experiments involved in fathom the shape of earth based on the visibility of sunset from two different altitudes. If the earth was flat, one would not be able to explain the visibility of the sunset from higher altitude after seeing it from lower altitude. Hence, this experiment proved that the earth was round and in doing so, these experiments challenged the widely believed religious claims and provided rationality to the people who follow them. Religion also evolved to acclimate to these new discoveries and few of them changed their ideals to align with the current world view. Thus, proving my point of view.

Furthermore, science clarifies the rationality behind the beliefs of religion. For instance, in Hindu religion, it is suggested to visit temples for peace of mind and clarity of thinking. Science allows one to reason this recommendation - it is a well known fact that temples are a sacred place of worship and the ambience in temples is quiet and beatific. According to therapists and neurologists, there is significant evidence that one can concentrate better and attain a peace of mind in a quiet place. Consequently, it is evident that science gives meaning to the religious belief of attaining peace in temples. The above example illustrates that it is science that provides meaning to religion and not vice-versa. Thus, this proves my point of view.

Ofcourse, some argue that it was religious beliefs behind the famous scientists that led them to discover and invent things. However, one could say that it was their intrinsic passion to question common religious beliefs and find answers for them. In conclusion, I reiterate the aforementioned examples that strongly suggest that science has meaning without religion.