Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

The dilemma of appealing to the masses or to act by one’s own judgment is ubiquitous in all governments. I strongly agree with the claim that government officials should rely on their own judgments rather trying to satisfy the will of the people unquestioningly for two reasons.

Most conspicuously, the demands of the people need not necessarily benefit themselves in the long run. To illustrate, let us look at the example where the government is proposing to construct a nuclear power station and the people are opposing it citing health and relocation reasons. The demands of the people are myopic and they aren’t considering the benefits in the long run. With the construction of the nuclear power plant, people will enjoy the uninterrupted power and new employment opportunities. It is also a sustainable alternative to non-renewable and polluting fuels, such as coal and natural gas, which are used to produce electricity currently. However, if the government official decides to act according to the will of the people, the city might suffer due to unavailability of electricity and acrid pollution in the coming years. Therefore, it is pertinent for the government to act according to their own judgement. Thus, proving my point of view.

Furthermore, the demands of various people are often contradictory and the government ends up with a slow and sloppy implementation if it chooses to act according to the will of the people. Consider the situation where the government needs to dispense funds to different sectors. Some people might want the government to focus on allocating a higher portion of the funds to transportation sector citing transportation is the key to globalization, while some might want government to allocate high funds in the education sector citing education will improve employment scenarios. If the government officials fail to decide based on their own volition and thereby catering to the whims of the people, development of the economy might be exacerbated. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that government officials should rely on their own judgement and thus, supporting my point of view.

In conclusion, I reiterate the aforementioned examples that strongly suggests that government officials should rely on their judgment in making major decisions than unquestioningly catering to the will of the people they serve.