Science has no meaning without religion

Everyday, the amenities we enjoy are invented/discovered directly via scientific research and studies. From the electricity we use to browse the internet to the cars that we use to transport from one place to another is a direct consequence of science. The prompt claims that religion gives meaning to science. However, I strongly disagree to the claim for two reasons.

Most conspicuously, science challenges various beliefs of religion and engenders some religious beliefs. To illustrate this, it was widely believed that earth was flat by several religions before 20th century. However, scientific experiments proved contrary to the proclaimed belief that the earth was flat. One such experiments involved in estimating the radius of earth based on the length of visible horizon and hence, proving the earth was not indeed flat. These experiments challenged the widely believed religious claims and provided rationality to the people who follow them. Thus, proving my point of view.

Furthermore, science clarifies the rationality behind the beliefs of religion. For instance, in Hindu religion, it is suggested to visit to temples for peace of mind and clarity of thinking. Science allows one to reason this recommendation - we all know that temples are sacred places of worships and the ambiance in the temples is quiet and beatific. According to therapists and neurologists, there are evidence that one can concentrate better and attain a peace of mind in a quiet place. Consequently, it is evident that science gives meaning to several religious beliefs and thus, proving my point of view.

In conclusion, I reiterate the aforementioned examples that strongly suggest that science has meaning without religion. It is science that gives meaning to religious beliefs and it is evident that religion plays no role in giving meaning to science.