The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The crux of the argument is to offer a free-tuition policy at Seatown University for the purpose of attracting more professor and enhancing morale among faculty because of the faculty retention at Oceania University higher by offering the same policy to the college-aged children of its own students. The argument is based on unwarranted assumptions and flawed for the following reasons.

Primarily, the author claimed the hypotheses on the basis of a survey on Oceania University. The author concludes that the Seatown and Oceania university are alike and the same policy will be successful in a different university. First of all, the author does not provide any information about how many students and faculty were part of the survey. It might be possible that the survey was not complete and major faculties were not happy with the situation. Also, it would have been possible that the Oceania University offer a higher salary to the faculties and the tuition fees also higher than other universities, that's why it would have been possible for the faculties to offer free tuition to the students.

The author also claimed that the faculty retention rate had gone higher after implementing the policy. Although there is no data about at what number the faculties were retained. It would have been possible that even before the policy, the retention of faculty was higher because of other facilities provided by the Oceania University to the faculties.

The author claimed that implementing the policy to Seatown University will increase the mortality among faculties and luring more professor. But there is no viable evidence provided by the author or any data, which proves that student would be happy to get the facility or there is an objection from teachers to offer the free tuition. It would have been possible that free tuition will be a burden to the faculties because it might be possible that the student's ratio to the faculty is higher at Seatown University. Also, it would have been possible that the salary was lower compared to the Oceania university so that teachers would not like to do extra work and overall morale was diminished. Also, it is unwarranted to think that the moral would be higher only after implementing the policy, this kind of thinking is a stigma to the noble profession like teaching.

The following argument was flawed and based on unwarranted reasons and also, failed to provide any convincing data that bolster the author's claimed that implementing the free tuition policy would be actually useful for the Seatown University.