The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company. "Several recent surveys indicate that homeowners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, the construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The crux of the argument of the planning department was that it is no longer necessary to construct a new generating unit of electric plants as the homeowners conserve energy and companies were making energy-efficient products. The argument is based on unwarranted reasons and flawed for the following reasons.

Primarily, the author told that the most recent surveys revealed that homeowners tend to conserve energy and manufactures of home appliances are now making energy-efficient products. But, the author does not provide the purview of the survey or how many people were part of the survey or did the survey conducted on a specific place or whole city. Since the proper data was unavailable it is not feasible to predict that every household is ready to save energy.

The author also claimed that, since new technologies like better home insulation and solar heating are readily available the total demand for electricity might not increase, might be decline. But the conclusion was unfeasible, as new technologies cost might be exorbitant and not available to many people. Also, if many people were thinking that they have to save energy by installing new energy saving appliances and everyone install the airconditioned and refrigerator that might create a pressure on the old electric grid, even if the products were energy efficient but used ubiquitously.

The author claimed that the past generating plant is enough to meet the needs and the new generating unit does not necessary. But, it might be possible that the people had started to conserve energy because there was a shortage of electricity and because of that the companies in that area had started to manufacture new energy saving appliances. No survey had occurred on customer satisfaction with the electricity generating company. Since no data had been available on customer satisfaction it is unfeasible to conclude that the three generating plants were enough.

The above points conclude that the argument is based on unwarranted reasons and flawed. The argument failed to provide any convincing data that bolster the author claims that the construction of a new generating unit is unnecessary.