"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The topic was about a recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys and established a relationship between hormones and body activity. The argument based on unwarranted reasons and flawed for the following reasons.

Primarily, the author conducted a study on the various rhesus monkey and provide information about different situations where they acted in a simulated way. The first flawed is the author does not provide details information about what kind of research conducted on them. It may be possible that the eighteen of them are from different places and they acted differently or maybe they are progenies of the same parents or the same ancestor, so they act in a similar way.

Besides, the author does not give any clear indication about whether the study conducted on the natural habitat of monkeys, for example in the jungle or the monkeys are just lab rats. in a different condition, animals act differently. The author also told that the situation is similar where first born child produces twice the hormone cortisol than younger ones. But, the author does not provide the exact number of monkeys who showed similar characteristics. It may be possible only few progenies of a single mother showed the characteristics. So, it would be an unfeasible conclusion that every monkey show analogous characteristics. Also, the author conducted the study only on eighteen monkeys. So, diversity is in question.

The author also compares human characteristics with the monkey that newborn humans also show similar hormone activity. But the author ignored the situation or ambient where the humans showed similar characteristics. There is no feasible data that proves that hormonal activity similar in the first newborn child. So, it is unwise to compare between them. The author also told that first-time mother monkey had higher cortisol that who had several offspring. Again the author does not provide real data or number of monkeys those who show similar characteristics. If the number is trifle then we can ignore the conclusion.

The argument based on several unwarranted assumption and unfeasible conclusion. The author failed to provide convincing data that prove that the hormone activity is similar in first child and first-time mother also similar characteristics between humans and monkeys. The author should have provided more pragmatic data that convince the readers and provide a feasible conclusion of the argument.