Essay topics: We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure

The topic was about increasing the fund for a movie and the author told to hiring less experienced producers and saving the money, invest it on hiring more experienced actors and paying overtime to the crew. The argument is unfeasible and flawed for the following reasons.

Primarily, the author claim, by increasing ten percent to the funding the quality of the movie will be ensured. But how cold only ten percent ensure the quality. There is no feasible data that provide the amount of money needed for the movie. Besides the quality of a movie depending on the myriad thing. It would have been possible that the new director creating a small budget film and do not need further money. It would have possible that the producers have already paid enough money and paying more money is impossible for them. Also, only ten percent not enough for the movie. Since there is no clear estimation, we can not tell ten percent is enough.

The second claim author had made that as the director is a novice and only shooting he had done is commercial for shampoo. The author thinks that the director cannot carry the movie. The reason is flawed because it might be possible that the director shooting a short film and he does not need that much experience. Besides how the author knows the adverting business is wasteful. There are many great directors who started their career in the advertisement. It might be possible that the commercial was successful and increased the selling of the shampoo because of the advertisement.

The author also claimed that hiring an inexperienced director and producers to save money and hire experienced actors to fill the gap. The author intended to pay extra money to the crew for overtime. One thing the author ignored is that movie making is a group project. A great movie not only need a great crew but also a script. Many movies became flop because of poor direction, and many movies are there, new actors and crew create a masterpiece. Also, overtime does not solve anything and could frustrate the crew and the actors. It would also possible that because of the short film the director does not need experience actor or need a new face for the film. It would also possible that produces do not have the money to hire an experienced actor.

The following argument based on unwarranted reasons and failed to provide convincing data that proves the authors' claims. The author should have provided more pragmatic and feasible data to sound more convincing to the readers.