"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In this argument the writer based on study of one type of monkeys assume that birth order has impact on an individual's level of stimulation, then the author provides some evidence to prove this assumption about monkey and human being. In my opinion this method of research is not rational or even is not scientific and I will discuss my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, the writer has provided just one study about one type of monkey and construct his/her assumption based on this study. In my view, this is not scientific methods for a couple of reasons. First, in this study researchers just study eighteen rhesus monkeys that is not enough for scientific conclusion. Since, this one study May has conditions that have impact on result but the researchers ignored them, hence we need to study more monkeys in different conditions.

Second, the writer tries to expand this result to other monkeys, while this method is not acceptable, since the body mechanisms of different monkeys are different and they May experience one thing but based on different mechanism. You can take dog and cat as the best example. When dogs play with human they run away, and cats when fear from human they will run away. In this example we can see easily that two familiar behavior have different mechanisms.

Third, the author believes that first born human also produce high level of cortisol when they face stimulation conditions. The writer tries to conclude that born order has impact on human's stimulation level, but this effort is not true, because the mechanism of human body is different form animals and perhaps this level of cortisol in stimulation situation may produce because of other reasons that we need to study about.

In brief, the writer has presented one argument based on mistake assumption and non-specific evidence that I removed them and if the writer answer following questions his/her argument will be stronger. First, whether there are other research about this topic? Second, how they made conclusion about other monkeys based on studying about one type of monkeys? Third., are there any independed study that show us born order has impact on cortisol level about human?