Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate — and, perhaps, even cruel — to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author of the issue claims that there should be the suspension of government’s financial support for the art in the situation which people of that society are in poverty. The writer further reasons that it is proper manner to pay attention to art in the case that people are in hunger. I fundamentally disagree with this proposition. In the following paragraphs, I will list my conspicuous reasons to cast doubt on the accuracy of this claim and its supportive statement.

First of all, one should take into account this significant fact that artists are a part of this society. If people of that society are in huger, the artists are in the poverty too. This fact gains more importance in the case of the consideration of how fragile is the sector of art. It has been proven during the history that the artist does not earn much money, and they do not have insurance or deposit or consistent salary for an emergency situation. A lucid example of this fact is Van Gough as the famous painter in the universal scope, or the Ezatolah Enitzimi as a well-known actor in Iran, both who with their impressive talent and art are died penniless. In this scenario, the complete elimination of budget means more pain and penury over the artists as the part of society.

Another equally notable point justifying my opinion is the side effects of this suspension over other parts which are in the chain with the art. Indeed, each artistic activity requires the platform for its illustration. These platforms prepare lots of work chance for ordinary people. The omission of art leads to financial pressure over these sectors too. For instance, if the government does not support the movie, the cinema owners and ticket sellers will lose their job. Or by the cession of painting, none of the art galleries will be open. This side effects also could continue over other economical parts which interrelation with the gallery or cinema owners. Consequently, this suspension will influence the big portion of society which is further than the artists.

Finally, the reason that the financial support of the art is cruel in the case in which the people could not answer their initial demands are cruel, is not a cogent clue for the support of the claim. Actually, the inspiration effect of art over people is an undeniable fact. In a case which individuals are in pressures, they require a way to release that force and get rid of stress. The comedy artistic activity is one of the factors can reduce this pressure. According to noteworthy statistical released by the research conducted in the Psychological Department in Middle East Technical University, the comedy shows lessen the mental pressure over the forty percent. By this fact, the government should adhere the artistic activities to make them free until it would be available for all persons in society. This situation at least it eliminates the pressure caused by the financial crisis.

To wrap it up, all aforementioned arguments leads up to the conclusion that the art should have its economic rear in any situation. As the artists require more financial support, a wide branch financially is nourished by the artistic activities, the elimination of these activities leads to a financial crisis over those branches too. And the art is a remedy for the decrement of stress