The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The manager claimed that in order to attract more customers, the television station should focus more on providing local and weather news. Stated in this way, the manager failed to mention several key factors on the basis of which the argument can be evaluated. To justify it further, the manager reasons that local and weather news can focus on customers and advertisers and can generate more revenues. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence provides little credible support to manager's argument. Hence manager's argument can be considered as incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author failed to mention any details about the other news channel which is already showing weather and local news. If that news channel is already popular and people are following it already, then switching from national news to weather and local news may bankrupt the channel. Moreover, it would be credible to know about the number of complaints about low coverage of weather and local news. If there are only a few complaints, then it would be inadequate to consider those complaints.

Furthermore, it would be necessary to know why the advertising company had canceled the contract. Maybe possible that the contract has been canceled by the advertising company due to some other reason like their lack of funds. Additionally, the manager had not mentioned whether there are other advertisers who have been enhancing due to national news for the station. Moreover, if people of that area who are viewing the national news are retired people and if they're more interested in the national news rather than anything else then it would be irrelevant to switch from national to weather and local news.

Finally, it could be possible that the decline in advertisers is due to lack of interest of people in watching late night news. Maybe possible that they would like to listen to music or watch other comedy shows or movies irrespective of the daily news. Hence, if the manager had surveyed more about the type of shows, then it would make the argument more adequate to analyze.

In conclusion, the manager's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the manager must provide clear concrete evidence, perhaps by the way of a reliable survey about the other stations in that area which are popular as well as the number of viewers of the television station. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more about why the manager thought that switching to weather and local news could be a profitable move.