The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims here that if more money should be given to city education, then its place value will be higher in providing good education amongst other cities who have spent less money in education. Stated in this way, the author fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which the argument could be evaluated. Just spending higher money in public schools doesn't ensure the good education and thus the argument is full of dubious assumptions. The author needs to answer several questions in order to evaluate the argument more cogently.

First of all, the author considers only money as a factor of better education and thus claims that more money should provide good amount of education in public schools. However, there must be some other factors which needs to be considered for evaluation of better education. For example, the interest of students in learning new things is a good factor of getting better education. If students are not willing to learn, instead of having good facilities, they won't get much educated. Many schools in small towns and villages are known for their better education instead of having less facilities. Thus, if all the factors for better education are considered and then evaluated, the argument looks more convincing.

Secondly, the author claimed that higher amount spent from tax revenues in public schools result in quality education. However, spending money in public schools without considering other factors doesn't make sense. There may be other aspects in which money from tax revenues and government funds can be spend and of higher priority then public schools. For example, the government can spend their money in maintaince of roadways, creation of public libraries, city maintainance etc. from which can make more benifit to the city. Hence a liable survey needs to be conducted in order to study the areas on which money needs to be spended.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidences, perhaps by way of detailed analysis of whehter the government fund should actually needs to be spent on public schools or not. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know why the public schools need higher money in order to give quality eduation.