The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above synopsis of the letter of Parson City's local newspaper argues that Parson city residents place higher value on providing good education than Blue city residents as Parson city recently spent twice the amount on public schools than Blue city. This argument is rife with holes as it rests on some unsubstantiated assumptions and is unpersuasive as it stands.

The above paragraph states that Parson City has recently spent twice than Blue City on Public schools even though the population of residents is same. Above claims is flawed as same number of residents doesn't imply same number of students in both the cities. Parson city might be having high ratio of students as compared to Blue city. It is therefore vague to compare the amount spent on public schools with respect to residents. This assumption is fallacious as it does not have solid ground.

The above argument also states that as Parson city is spending more money than Blue city on public schools it is placing higher value on education. The above statement is incorrect as spending money doesn't place value on education rather dedicated learning process plays a vital role in placing value to education. Blue city might have the modern day facilities like projectors , audio systems in the schools and Parson city might be divested by these modern day technologies therefore to incorporate these technologies Parson City migth have spent more money than Blue City.

The people of Blue city believe that as Parson City is spending more on public education it is placing higher value on good education.This statement is false as the argument nowhere talks about the results of the students.There is a possibility that although Parson city is spending more money on education but Blue City students are performing well in academics.It is important to understand that only hardwork and dedication can produce good results.Unless and until the outcome is known it would be unfair to assert about the value of education.

The above synopsis of the letter of Parson City's local newspaper doesn't provide enough documents and evidence to bolster its argument. Without enough evidence it creates a wishful impression on the reader and remains unsubstantiative. It could have been a better argument if proper statistics report and evidence would be attached with the letter.