The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

As per the reports of the marketing team the production house has concluded to allocate greater share of budget for advertising to increase to footfall.this argument is rife with holes and rests on a series unsubstantiated assumptions and is unpersuasive as it stands.

Firstly, the report generated by the marketing team of super movie production company asserts that the number of people visited the movies produced by them was fewer as compared to the previous years. The word fewer is vague as it does not give the exact number of people visiting for the movie. The number can be as few as 10 which is not enough to judge a movie.

Secondly, the report mentions that the amount of positive reviews given by the reviewers increased in the same year.this flaw can be easily bolstered by the first flaw.if the number of people visiting for the movie is less , then there is high probability of having high percentage of positive reviews.Suppose the movie produced previous year had 1000 visitors and 200 of them gave positive reviews then percentage of positive reviews is 20. Similarly if this year the movie has a footfall of 200 visitors and 100 of them gav positve reviews then percentage of positive reviews is 50 which is very much high then the previous year. The increase in percentage of positive reviews can also be because of the fact that the movie is very content specific and only people who are interested in that particular content have visited to watch the movie because of which the movie has a very high rating.

The movie has fewer visits than previous years and it is because of inadequate advertising as per the reports generated by marketing department.there can be several reasons for fewer visits like the protagonist and the antagonist might be new to the industry and due to less popularity the movie might have few visits.there is a possibility that concomitantly a movie of a superstar is released because of which the movie produced by super Screen is available on less screens.

The author could have made the argument stronger if he would have butressed it with some statistics regarding the number of people and percentage increase.Other parameters should also be considered before allocating bigger share to advertsing agency as there is a probablility that other areas might be having some issues which are overshadowed by this issue as it sounds great. Therefore the budget for advertsing agencies shouldn't be increased on this argument as it is flawed and doesn't have enough proof to bolster it.