The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. “According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen moviesactually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available.Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.” Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order todecide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above memo from the advertising director of Super Screen Movie production company emphasizes on the fact that in the recent year fewer people attended the movie produced by them yet the percentage of positive reviews increased than the previous year.The director feels the need to allocate greater budget for advertising to seek more people's attention.This argument is rife with holes and rests on some unsubstantiated assumptions and is unpersuasive as it stands.

The argument states that in the recent year footfall was least compared to all the other years yet the percentage of positive reviews was higher than previous year.There is a chance that the movies produced by Super Screen in the previous year were flop because of which the footfall declined in the recent year.And also the movies produced by them might be better than past year but not tantamount with the movies launched by other production companies.Therefore the movies produced by them in the recent year are better then their movies produced by them in the past year because of which there is a rise in the percentage of positive reviews.

The argument later states that the content of the reviews are not reaching to prospective viewers.This statement is fallacious as to bring in more viewers a production house needs to produce movies which are tantamount with other movies and also in interest of people. The production house cannot increase their footfall by producing cliche movies. If the Super Screen Movie Production company focuses on producing better content then automatically the footfall will increase.

The memo states that there is no issue with the quality of the movie which is incorrect as it is not buttressed by any customer survey.The above statement is vague because to ensure the quality of the movie is upto the mark there should be box-office reports and also critics report.Based on this fallacious thought Super Screen Movie Production Company shouldn't allocate greater share to advertising.

Therefore the memo by the director is invalid is it does not have any solid grounds. There aren't enough documents,surveys and statistics report to make a decision regarding allocating greater budget in the upcoming year.Therefore without any evidence the company shouldn't allocate greater budget in the advertising sector.