The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. “According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen moviesactually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available.Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.” Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order todecide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument of the advertising director needs a few pieces of evidence in order to answer some questions and evaluate the recommendation. Firstly, percentage wise, the exact amount of people attending the Super Screen-produced movies needs to be known for that year compared to, say, an average of previous years for Super Screen and for other producers. The credibility of movie reviewers also needs to be evaluated in order to determine the validity of their reviews. Also, a critique of the advertising director and the advertising department is required since the director is essentially requesting a larger budget for the next year.

The first question to be answered is regarding how many fewer people are watching the movies produced by the studio exactly. If the relative percentage compared to previous years is only a few percent, then that could be within the margin of error, or simply due to a downturn in the movie market in general. The overall health of the movie market must not be ignored. People may be watching not only fewer movies produced by Super Screen, but fewer movies in general.

In regards to the greater amount of positive reviews, the credibility of the reviewers needs to be evaluated. Also, the selection of reviewers needs to be compared to that of previous years to determine if there was any shift in who reviews Super Screen-produced movies. The legitimacy of these reviews needs to be verified since what the director says in their memo is not necessarily true. The reviews could be, in fact, more neutral or negative than positive.

An additional consideration is that of the advertising director and the advertising depertment in general. The director could be using a downturn in the movie market overall to motivate Super Screen to allocate more money to his department. A review of the advertising depertment's expenditures should also be evaluated for their effectiveness and neccessity. The department could be wasting budget on needless advertising in one locale, while missing a large potential market in another. The director might be taking advantage of this situation to requisition more money.

Based off of these facts, questions can be answered to determine if the reccomendation of an increased budget for the advertising department is valid. A souring of the overall movie market could be responsible for the decreased attendence. The reviewers of the past year's movies should be compared to those of previous years to determine if that group has changed significantly, therefore possibly causing the greater percentage of positive reviews. The advertising department itsself should also be analyzed to find if their use of their existing budget is justified. Answering these questions should help determine if the director's reccommendation is sound.