The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The board of directors of monarch books recommends to open a cafe in its store to increase the footfall which will further increase the business and help monarch books store to compete with regal books. this argument is rife with holes and rests on some unsubstantiated assumptions and is unpersuasive as it stands.

The first sentence of the argument states that directors recommend to open a cafe in the store. The word recommed is vague as it suggests to open a cafe without having done immense research on the fact whether the cafe would bring in more profits to the monarch books store. opening a cafe would require plethora of investment. One cannot afford to invest a lot of money without having done proper planning. monarch books store is reputed for its ensemble collection of books since past twenty years. they don't have any kind of experience in running a cafe, so it is quite risky to open a cafe and guarantee that the business will surely pump up because of it.

it is not necessary that opening a cafe would surely increase the business. monarch books have here to fore dealed with books so it will be altogether a new challenge to run the cafe . opening a cafe will require a complete novel team which includes marketing team,kitchen team,sales team,managers,purchase team,etc. this will require a lot of management to secure its position in the market.

if their cafe doesn't work well then they will have to face lots of loss and they will also loose their customers which will ultimately lead to a big drop in business. The directors suggest to open a cafe in area where children's books are kept. this idea doesn't sound well enough as children's are avid book readers. they love to read jingles and novels. because of children customers visit the store and the store ends up in doing good business.

The cencus reported by the nation indicated the decline the population of children below age ten but it nowhere mentions that the number of children reading a book is going to go down. this statement is flawed and shouldn't be taken into account. regal books have opened a cafe in their book store to increase the business but it doesn't imply that they have been successful in doing so. As regal books have opened cafe , now they will have to focus on both of thier businesses and it will be difficult for them to manage it and sustain in the market . monarch books should take it as an advantage an increase the stock of the books regal books have stopped selling to increase their business.

The argument has not provided any detailed statistics regarding the idea of opening a new cafe. it has no reports or research attached to it to bolster the argument . it could have been better if the board Of directors had explicitly stated the pros and cons of the idea of opening a cafe. As there are not enough statistics to buttress the idea of opening a cafe the argument remains flawed.