The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books, which states that opening a café in its store would help them attract customers and rival their competitors’ Regal books, who recently opened an own café, seems to likely work. The above suggestion can have predicted results if the Directors can answer the following questions.

Firstly, are the wide range of books available in both stores are comparable? It is mentioned that Monarch Books were leading Bookstores for twenty years now, and why do they feel that the new own café opened in Regal Books store could be the main reason for their hefty profits. The real possible reason could be the less-variety of books. They presume that café would have a significant impact on their profits. Even though the opening of café is a lucrative option, does that really help them compete on par with their rivals?

Secondly, to create some room for the café they are planning to discontinue the children’s section because of the most recent census which predicts that there is a significant decline in the percentage growth of children under age ten. There is a chance that the above statistics are merely claims. If there is really a population decline of children under ten, then it is possible to have their store crowded with people. This advice from the Directors can help them gain huge money.

In conclusion, the above recommendation can be evaluated if the directors can answer the above questions. It’s clear that opening café would not alone solve the problem but clearing children’s section would give them some space.