The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books."We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because

Set us first discuss the arguments given by the Board of Directors of Monarch books in the favour of opening a cafe in its store, which they plan at the cost of a children’s book section. As mentioned in the report, the Cafe has become a popular destination for a wide selection of books on all subjects, being at the same locatio for more than twenty years. This can be due to a lot of factors – be its ambience, strategically correct location, antique collection, well maintenance, etc. so it is clear that having a cafe would attract more customers.

However, this is being done at the cost of children’s book section, and its effects need to be well anticipated. A result from the national census has been quoted that indicated a significant decline in the percentage of population under ten. It is well known that national census is recorded for whole of the nation and while it shows the average trend, it does not indicate about the population of children in the particular locality in which Monarch books is located. Without this piece if information we cannot comment about the popularity of Children’s book section. It is quite possible that Monarch books is located near a big school and is often visited by various class groups once in a month, which can be a big source of revenue. Thereby discontinuing the children’s book section might lead to a big blow to the store’s finances, as compared to the benefits from the newly opened Cafe.

Its being the only bookstore in the vicinity of a local college will, however, have the intended effect as teenagers are more inclined towards cafes in thier free time. This distinction makes it important to analyze the type of audience of Monarch, before taking any decision. As far as the other bookstore – Regale books is concerned, its successful opening of a cafe does not prove a general trend. Regale books might be located in a place where people come in the evenings, or to spend their free time, and opening a cafe will surely be of a benefit. It also needs to be studied whether Regale books sacrificed a book section for the Cafe or openend it in a certain area. In the case of Monarch books, opening a cafe comes at the cost of children’s book section, so we need to make sure that this isnt a pyrrhic step. If Regale books has opened the Cafe in a newly acquired land, than this stands as a no loss bragain for them and comparing them to Monarch will not be justified. In that case, opening a cafe might turn out as a big risk. In colclusion, the board of directors should well study the distribution of readers of various genres and take into account the location preferences before investing into something that can potentially do more harm than good.