2. The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating si

The argument is not found.

First, 18 rhesus monkeys are relative small in sample sizes, as the experiment require, at least a mother and 2 babies are required, that is at most 6 groups. 6 groups as a sample is really low. If the study can include more families.

Second, increasing level of cortisol but without giving correct correlation between human and monkey is insufficient to generalize birth order to an individual’s hormone level. The given experiment groups, human and monkeys, may have great similarities, but without sufficient classification, nothing is conclusive. There can be a hidden mutual mutator X, affect both human and monkey’s cortisol level. Without special designed tool to root out the factor, “birth order” can be the independent control determine the cortisol level.

Most importantly, birth order probably is not the factor directly contributing to the hormone level. For example, when facing stimulants, given first born will have more cortisol facing their returning parents. However, the second born, probably is accompanied by the first born, produces less. There can be two factors here, birth order and group number, second born enjoys a larger pact. On the other hand, possibly the mothers learned something from their past and acts more carefully and cause less noise. This will make their babies have less cortisol. This can be root out by putting mothers have multiple babies as stimulant instead of the “first-born’s” biological parents.

Conclusively, the birth order may be relevant to some extent in the stimulation level of individuals. However, there may be certain other factors that are more relevant than the birth order such as those discussed above. Further studies and a larger population data maybe more convincing for that matter.