A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previou

The movie producer is asking more money from their studio. It is due to following reasons, the director is from advertising industry, they have some wasting issues. Assistant producers and directors are amateurish, will take more time, thus more timely wages to actors and crews. If no extra money, according to the producer, the movie will be a failure.

From the information give, the movie is having an uncertain fate. Every higher ups are novice directors and producers. 10% more money may not help at all. If the director is so wasteful, 10% won’t make any difference. Without pay structure and other cost bills, I can’t tell if it is true. At the same time, other assistants are so fresh, almost cursed to make more mistakes, 10% may not seem enough. Though there is no location/nation information, given the word “unionized,” we can safely assume it is a developed capitalist economy, where labor costs dominates production costs. Director is going to consume more, workers are demanding more, 10% is just rain drop in a wide bucket. The producer is very much being far to optimistic and conservative in terms of uncertain future.

On the opposite end, if we look at differently, the producer will take this 10% and run wild with it. If the situation is not that bad, 10% extra is something the producer can reward their own people for. Wasteful director is a good way to write a cheque away. Pay it to any special effect or scene company, friends will be happy. I think the “new” assistants will be easily manipulated by the producer, especially a producer with money.

In conclusion, no money should be give. Either it will become someone else’ bribe or throwing money down a rabbit hole.