As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoni

“People are getting so stupid these days!”

Technology will always mark the human experience, from the discovery of fire to the

implementation of nanotechnology. Given the history of the human race, there will be

no limit to the number of problems, both new and old, for us to tackle. There is no

need to retreat to a Luddite attitude to new things, but rather embrace a hopeful

posture to the possibilities that technology provides for new avenues of human

imagination.

Surrounded as we are by striding and strident automatons with cell phones glued to

their ears, PDA’s gripped in their palms, and omniscient, omnipresent CNN gleaming

in their eyeballs, it’s tempting to believe that technology has isolated and infantilized

us, essentally transforming us into dependent, conformist morons best equipped to

sideswip one another in our SUV’s.

Furthermore, hanging around with the younger, pre-commute generation, whom

tech-savviness seems to have rendered lethal, is even less reassuring. With “Teen

People” style trends shooting through the air from tiger-striped PDA to zebra-striped

PDA, and with the latest starlet gossip zipping from juicy Blackberry to teeny, turbocharged

cell phone, technology seems to support young people’s worst tendencies to

follow the crowd. Indeed, they have seemingly evolved into intergalactic conformity

police. After all, today’s tech-aided teens are, courtesy of authentic, hands-on video

games, literally trained to kill; courtesy of chat and instant text messaging, they have

their own language; they even have tiny cameras to efficiently photodocument your

fashion blunders! Is this adolescence, or paparazzi terrorist training camp?

With all this evidence, it’s easy to believe that tech trends and the incorporation

of technological wizardry into our everyday lives have served mostly to enforce

conformity, promote dependence, heighten comsumerism and materialism, and

generally create a culture that values self-absorption and personal entitlement over

cooperation and collaboration. However, I argue that we are merely in the inchoate

stages of learning to live with technology while still loving one another. After all, even

given the examples provided earlier in this essay, it seems clear that technology hasn’t

impaired our thinking and problem-solving capacities. Certainly it has incapacitated our

behavior and manners; certainly our values have taken a severe blow. However, we are

inarguably more efficient in our badness these days. We’re effective worker bees of

ineffectiveness!

If technology has so increased our senses of self-efficacy that we can become

veritable agents of the awful, virtual CEO’s of selfishness, certainly it can be beneficial.

Harnessed correctly, technology can improve our ability to think and act for ourselves.

The first challenge is to figure out how to provide technology users with some direlyneeded

direction.