The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company. "Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. On

The increase in productivity of any company is due an overall increase in the work efficiency of all employees and not individuals. Just assuming that an increase in any one character because of taking a course will increase the productivity is unjustified. There may be several factors at play and surely office environment would have changed at least a bit since before the course. The company needs to evaluate the difference made by this course and not the difference made by the company overall. Only then can it be confirmed that the course really made a significant difference for the employees and ultimately, for the company.

First, five-hundred-page report may first seem to be impressive, but the argument is deeply flawed. Normally people will assume a multi-hundred-page report are all written on letter-size papers and all words are in size 12 Times New Roman. However, it may not necessarily be true, the report may be written in cell phone size booklets with size 24 fonts. Furthermore, reading fast doesn’t mean comprehension. An 800-word-page report with half thousand pages, 400,000 words in 2 hours, that is 3333 words per minute, 56 words per second. In another word, 4 lines per second, assuming you are a fast reader, you won’t remember what the words 4 lines was above. Thus, we can prove the report is fabricated with false evidence at best, or straight lying, a inside job tricking the company’s board of directors. I would suggest immediate termination of the personnel director and contact our attorneys ASAP.

Second, an assistant manager ascends to the vice president a such a leap with all magnitudes of consideration, an isolated miracle cannot justice the repeatable phenomenon. As the founder of modern logic, David Hume pointed out, an individual incident won’t establish certain causal relationship. Someone got promoted, can’t prove the sole merit of “Easy Read,” especially the time laps is 4-quarters. We can’t isolate the new vice president’s personal achievement from her private strivings or the superior work performance in an managerial position, which is not directly contributing our editorial process.

Third, nothing too obvious when our personnel director inserts her personal assumption as “Obviously:” “the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. In sum, the director's evidence does not warrant his conclusion. To support his recommendation he must first provide evidence that employees with similar reading skills as those that Acme employees possess have benefited significantly from the course (a survey of other publishing companies might be useful for this purpose). To better assess the argument an audience would need to be presented with more information about the extent to which the course would disrupt Acme's operations—a cost benefit analysis.

In illusion, the director assumes without warrant that the benefits of the course will outweigh its costs. While all of Acme's employees take the 3-week course, Acme's productivity would decline. This decline, along with the substantial fee for the course, could conceivably outweigh the course's long-terms benefits. Without a complete cost-benefit analysis it doesn’t make sense to draw a conclusion. The argument given above by the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company favors Easy Read Speed-Reading Course. According to the personnel director, many companies have benefited from their employees taking this course and have shown an increase in productivity. There have been reports of graduates improving the reading speed and also getting promoted to higher ranks, and it is credited to the course since you can grasp more if you read faster. The course costs $500 per employee, including a three-week long seminar and a lifelong subscription of the Easy Read newsletter. This price, according to the personnel director, is not much compared to how beneficial the course proves to be. However, the assumption on which this argument is based is questionable due to which it seems to be lacking in logic.