Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout

Are long-term weather forecasts in this region typically correct with regards to trends in temperature? If not, the argument is weakened, because rising temperatures might reduce demand for heating oil.

Are people likely to continue to heat their homes with oil in the future, or is there a trend towards other methods of heating? If oil heating is likely to dominate, the argument is more likely to be correct, since heating oil will retain its value as an investment.

Is Consolidated Industries generally healthy as a company? If it’s likely to go bankrupt in the next year due to poor management, the health of the heating oil industry in general doesn’t matter!

On the contrary, it is likely that Consolidated Industries is facing losses as they supply heating oil to a region that does not require the same. It is also likely that the oil manufactured by Consolidated Industries is used more often by factories and industries as compared to homes. Moreover, as the arguer makes no mention of the present sales statistics of Consolidated Industries, it would be unreasonable to assume that the demand of heating oil marketed by the company is on the rise.

Even if we assume that there is an increase in the demand for heating oil in the northeastern region and that Consolidated Industries is the sole provider for heating oil in that region, the arguer cannot make the hasty recommendation that one should invest in Consolidated Industries. This is because it is not necessary that catering to an increase in demand would lead to profits for the company. The company may require additional manufacturing units, more raw materials, additional workers etc. In the absence of detailed information on the finances involved in manufacturing the additional heating oil and the profits brought in by the sale of the heating oil, one cannot be convinced that the investments would easily be recovered and that the company will have good profits. In view of the above, the advice given by the arguer seems extremely unreasonable.

In sum, the inference drawn by the arguer is fallacious, at least without additional evidence to support it. The arguer needs to bolster the argument with information related to the sales statistics of Consolidated Industries including the region where it operates. Moreover, there is the requirement of evidence that can prove that the cold weather would actually lead to an increase in the demand for heating oil.