The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Board of Directors recommends that the Mornarch Books open a café to attract more customers for its store and can compete with Regal Book, however this new investment should replace the children’s book section due to the decline of the population under age ten. Although this might be logical, there are some further questions which need to be evaluated in order to verify the valid of the proposed recommendation.

The primary question that needs to evaluated is if the children’s book section have lost its importance due to the result of the most recent national census which indicated a decline in percentage of people under ten years old. Firstly, the research affirms that only the percentage of total population has an decline, instead of the total number of children under age ten. As is largely known, currently the number of the world’s population in increasing year after year, so an decline in the percentage could not be interpreted as an significant decrease in the absolute value of under age ten population. Thus, more data is needed in order to really evaluate in absolute numbers if there will be a real decrease or just an apparent one.

A second and more philosophical question might also be answered if is worth to sacrifice the children’s book section in order to try increase the number of customers. In the first place, we need to understand that there is no guarantee that this strategy will work, but even considering that is plausible, it is required to evaluate the effects of a total remove of the children’s book. Clearly, a long-term effect could be evident and it is related to the decrease of the kid’s interest in reading and those people one day will grow up and became adults. Those adults that didn’t read during their childhood will not replace the old customers. This fact is very important as the recommendation affirms that the Monarch Books already exists in the same place for more than twenty years, sufficient time to this problem became reality if they will continues to exist for the next twenty years.

In conclusion, when we evaluate these two important question, it is easy to see that the construction of a café replacing the children’s book section could be very disadvantageous to the book store. As the recommendation shows, there is a not a clear view in absolute number of the chidren’s polulation reduction and remove of their books could also create an inverse long-term effect that the future customers of the Mornarch Books aren’t interested in reading any more. In that terms, it’s adivisable to Mornarch to leave its store as it is now, because of the children’s book section replacement.