Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The arts in all theirs aspects are very important to the society, however to be an artist is tought, precisely in which concerns economic issues that people who live with arts pass during their careers. In those lines, the government funding of the arts is highly necessary in order to flourish the artistic vein.

Currently, an artistic life could be very challenging. In general, the society don’t give the expected value for arts how they give for other professions like engineers or medics, and this condition is the main reason for very talented people give up for theirs artistic careers.

Furthermore, the few artists which we have nowadays need to put very high prices in theirs concerts or galleries in order to try to gain some money back, also giving an unwanted status of a “high society stuff” for people that like and go to this type of place.

Under those circumstances, a funding, better if it’s from the government, but could also be from private institutions, will be essential for maintaining and flourishing the arts in general. It’s a profession that is actually in danger of existence and the general public doesn’t have the proper access to them.

On the other hand, this type of funding ought to be without politic interests. The government might discern that this type of help cannot mean that they are the owner or the bosses of the artists. Under those circumstances, this financial aid could really threat the integrity of the arts.

Another important point is that the funding could also not be selective, in other words, the government might support all type of arts and not just the types that they most like or that is the called “left“ or “right”. This type of action could be worse and more dangerous than the previously discussed, because selecting what the public will be able to see is a very serious act of manipulation and the art cannot became this type of politic manoeuver.

In summary, the government funding is actually very important and also necessary to ensure that arts can flourish during actual times. Also, this help cannot be a way for creating a social or politic selection, the aid must be to bring arts for all type of people, without discerning the political preference or social class.