Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

The topic raises a widely debated issue of professions outside the academic world. Indisputably, having a job within your area of expertise using the courses that an university taught is the best case scenario. This would help to form very specialized professional, increasing the work force level across a nation. Nevertheless, this reality is far form what we find nowadays and people should adapt to their enviroment. Thus, I disagree with the fact that faculties should require that students work in professions related to their courses.

First of all, there are numerous types of professions with different demanding for jobs, thus it is difficult to make such general claim to all possible scenarios. For example, people who are graduating from a law school probably will have a lot of job offers because it is a very hot market and people are always looking for this type of service. However, in most specific courses, such as nuclear engineering or astrophysics, graduated students might find a very hard time to find a profession related to their specialties. As a result, these people will start to seek jobs on other domains that could be not related to their courses or if they really want to be related with their professions, attain a doctoral degree on the academic world. Consequently, we should analyse individually each profession and course. In some cases the faculty could require such claim, but in most cases it could be very challenging for students to follow this rule.

Secondly, people should be free to choose what they want and no institution should interfere in they freedom. Requiring that all students might undertake they jobs related to they courses could provoke depressive and frustrated workers . It is not difficult to find someone that work on a job that is far from being related to his/her course, but he/she are very satisfied. For instance, banks are always looking for new graduate students from engineering courses. Even though there are almost no relation between the courses taught in these two professions, the students are able to perform very well on the money’s field. In addition, a lot of people discover their passion with economy and are very pleased for the opportunity to discover it. Under those lines, the profession path that each person follows should be chosen by themselves and the university should not participate in that decision.

Admittedly, working on the same field of study would help to create very specialized professionals. However, the argument above does not constitute a sufficient support to the claim that in most cases this is not possible due to factors including available jobs places or the individual motivations and professional goals.

In sum, although creating a rule that is mandatory to students find jobs related to their taught courses on university could help to increase the quality of work force, they also tend to veer off in irrelevant directions. As long as people are satisfied with their professions, no one should try change this reality. In fact, the individual quality of life should be in first place and faculties might work to improve that instead of creating unfeasible rules that in the real word no one will be able to follow.