Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Cars are a very important part of our lives. It is the way we use to travel from some place to another. Some people would believe that in twenty years there will be more cars in use than there are today; others would disagree. In my view, in the next two decades there will be fewer cars for two important reasons.

The main reason is that the technology is advancing. Every day we see on television news about innovative products that are entering in the market and alternatives for cars is not an exception. Vehicles are very dangerous for the environment because they release in the air a lot of substances, such as fumes and carbon dioxide, that destroy the atmospherical ozone layer and increase the greenhouse effect. For example, last week, I was watching on YouTube a presentation of a new drone capable of transporting up to three people. The company that made this product was placed in China and was called Ehang. The sales were planned to start in 2022 and they already have a lot of countries interested in using it for military purposes. The drone can perform a two hours trip without stop and could reach a maximum range of two hundred kilometers. The price for the costumer will be about fifty thousand dollar, not so far from actual cars on the market. Also, the man that was presenting told that a new version is expected to be on the market on the next ten years and will be able to reach five hundred kilometers in just three yours and will be fully electrical powered. This drone clearly demonstrated that in twenty years more alternatives to classical cars will be available on the market.

Another reason is that cities are becoming no more viable to cars. A common issue for almost all major cities on Earth, like New York, Tokyo, Paris, and Rio, is that the traffic of vehicles is increasing dramatically. In addition, there is not more place for the construction of new roads due to the structure of the cities. In that way, alternatives for cars is mandatory. For instance, I'm taking my TOEFL exam on Sao Paulo, the biggest city in Brazil. I booked the closest hotel from the test center that I found on internet and it is located about six blocks from here. This morning, I called a taxi to go to the exam and it took incredible forty five minutes to cover six hundred meters. Because of the rush hours, the city's traffic was completely crowded, also there was an accident that increase even more the traffic jam. The taxi driver told me that this happens almost every day and he was considering change his job because he is starting to lose a lot of money staying freeze on the streets. He also explained to me that on last year the streets were much better then now and there will a time, very soon, that the city will stop completely. This experience tought me that the number of cars will need to decrease in twenty years.

In sum, though may some believe that the quantity of cars in the next twenty years will be greater than now, in fact, from my experience, I believe that they will decrease. Not only new alternatives are appearing everyday but also cities are starting to stop due to the large number of vehicles using their streets. Everyone should try to use more alternatives to cars, such as public transportation or bicycles, to see all the benefits that less cars could have in our lives.