Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The statement presents the intend of Nature’s Way, a company which sells health food and other health-related products, to initiate its activities in the town of Plainsville. The franchise thinks that will be very profitable in this city because reports showed that running shoes and exercise clothing are selling very well, besides that the local health club has its biggest number of members, where the gym classes are being very used. And Nature’s Way is also expecting a future generation of costumes coming from the schoolchildren, because now they are required to join in a fitness-for-life program, emphasizing how good is exercise at their ages. Although the information provided by reports seem to be very encouraging for the franchise’s successful, they are a lack of important facts which need to be evaluated.

In the first place, the argument doesn’t shows the date that the reports have been made. This behavior of an increase in the health products could be linked with summer. When this season starts a lot of people are very excited in starting a new activity, for example, the gyms are always full in the beginning of summer but after some months they start to be empty again. So, the company need to be aware that this boom of sales might be very seasonal, where the franchise will only have a sufficient number of costumers in one or two months a year. Also, there is not informed where the town of Plainsville is located, if it is placed in a northern region, with very rigid winter, the decrease of sales during the cold could be even worst.

Furthermore, there is no information about other stores selling fitness products. All new business need to evaluate their niche but also its competitors. Considering that Plainsville is in fact a very health like city, another stores could also exist from a long time and this market might be saturated. Another possibility that is need to be take in care is if the people who practice their exercise are consuming health food or other related product, if this city is placed in the countryside, for example, the citizens could find their food direct from local farmers and a specialized industrial health food could be useless.

Finally, it is not very reliable to trust that schoolchildren who participated in a fitness program will be the new generation of costumers. There are a lot of unknown fact for a such long-term prediction. A lot of there children might move from Plainsville at older ages to go to college for example. Another aspect is if the Nature’s Way will exist in the future, from a person pass to children to adult, it is talking about ten or more years.

In summary, there perspectives are good for success of the next Nature’s Way franchise in the city of Plainsville, but a lot of further aspects need to be carefully evaluated in order to validate or not its future. Studying a full market of sales from the town ought to be the first aspect, also the company needs to see if there is some competitor and also consider more reliable data for a perspective for a ten or more years in future based in the schoolchildren population.