The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The letter to the editor descibres a study that shows the tendancy of firstborn infant monkeys to produce up to two times more cortison when compared with their yournger brothers. The same behavior could be visible on first-time mothers, who produced more homone than the experients parents.

In the first place, the study in rhesus monkeys seems to be taken by a serious institution, which show very contundent results and giving a strong theory of the behavior of firstborn infant monkeys and first-time mothers. Under those circuntances we can consider that the results are very fiable and further explanations might be provided with the information of the reader’s letter.

The study was made with non-domestic animals, so the instinct behavior of these animal could be the first explanation for the results. The firstborn baby monkeys are the first to came to the enviroment, beeing the first that could be attacked by predators. In that case, the bigger production of cortisol when they have an encounter with unfamiliar animals might be explained.

Furthermore, all the animal’s behaviors are generated by thousands of years of evolutionary selection. The Darwin’s theory is a very reliable explanation for the fact that first-time mothers and firstborns produce more cortisol. On the history of evolution, the monkey’s population that produces more homone are the most adapted and they had a rate of surviving bigger than the population that produces the same amount of cortisol.

Similarly, the letter also presents the information that first born humans also produce higher levels of cortison in dangerous situations. Under those circumstances, using the evolutionary theory, this phenomenon might be developed by the same ancient species that cames before humans and money. As we know, the homo-sapiens and the monkey share a lot of genetic information, so there is possible to find same behaviours on both species.

In conclusion, the fact that humans and monkeys have the same tendency to firstborns produce high level of cortisol in stimulating situations indicate that a common specie developed this characteristic during its evolutionary process. How the homo-sapiens is more developed, the cortison generation for firstborn are not so primordial as the monkeys, so the homone levels are smaller when compared with monkeys, showing that this evolutionary characteristic is becaming unecessary.