Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Books are a very important part of our lives. It is where we find all the human’s knowledge translated into words. We can find all types of information, from history to complex theories about the universe. Some people would belive that is better to use printed material to do research; others would prefer to use internet. In my view, physical books and articles are much better for two important reasons.

The main reason is that the archive of printed material is bigger than the internet. In order to find very specific books, such as ancient or rare books, we need to look in a library. Even if we find those books in an online website, a lot of time they are just poor scanning with very low quality. In those words, searching printed material could be far more easy. For example, when I was in college, my aerodynamics professor used a very old book printed in 1930s. Me and my friends tried to find this book on the internet. We searched for about an entire day and founded just small quotations and very low quality pictures. On the next day, we went to the library and, in about five minutes, we found three copies available. Also, we discovered others interesting books in the same section that helped a lot in our studies. After that, I started to use the library every time I need to find academic books. As you can see, using printed material could more easy than the internet.

Another reason is that is easier to study with printed books. Many people have problems to stay in front of a screen for long hours, the light start to tire our eyes and after two or three hours it is almost impossible to read any text in a screen. Also, some people like to read in their smartphones, which long exposures could be is very dangerous for our vision. For instance, I remember when I was writing a paper about airplanes’ structures. My advisor sent to me a very large presentation with four hundred slides. After a time studying the material, I had a strong headache and I stopped working. On the next day, I tried again with a less bright screen, but after one hour the pain started again. The solution was to print all the material on my school and the reading become better. I remember that I could read the printed presentation for about three hours straight without any problem. This experience taught me that words in a paper are better then digital ones.

In sum, though some may prefer using the internet, printed material have a lot of advantages. Not only the collection of printed books is bigger than the virtual, but also is more comfortable to do your research reading from paper. Everyone should work to introduce more printed material in their lives to see all benefits that it have.