Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The internet is a very important part of our lives. It is the tool that we use to communicate with our friends, to watch our favorite series, and a big source of news. Some people would believe that the access to this huge amount of information creates problems; others would disagree. In my view, internet provides to people a lot of valuable information for two important reasons.

The main reason is that we can find different views from the same information. In order to create an unbiased summary from a information, we need to read from different sources with different views. The internet is a very useful way to do that, we can find blogs and pages from a large range of political views, from extreme right to extreme left-wing. For example, I'm now living in Brazil, and the new president is trying to approve a new emend that will change all the public retirement system. Nowadays, the country spend almost 25% of it income to pay retired people, in contrast education and health system receive only 3% each. However, it is a very controversial subject because it will increase the minimal age that people will be able to apply for retirement and also will decrease the amount paid. The mainstream brazilian media usually have left-wing thoughts, in that way they are against this change. All the news are talking about how bad it will be for the nation. Conversely, on the internet I could find a lot of different sources. Also, there are a lot of left-wing blogs that are advocating with the change and the majority of right-wings are also approving. As a result, using the internet I was able to create a broader view from the problem and reaching a different conclusion if was just getting the information from the traditional media. This event clearly demonstrated that the internet could provide a lot of valuable information for people.

Another reason is that the internet is the fastest way that we can use to access information. If an event happens in any part of the world, the information will be available to us in a few minutes. In addition, we can use our social medias to contact friends and ask about something that happened and they could provide first-hand news about it. For instance, last month, when there was a fire on the famous French church, the Notre Dame. I remember that I was watching television and a friend of mine texted me about this. Immediately, I entered on the internet and that was already tons of information available to me. Also, there were different people doing "lives" close to the church to show what was happening. However, about thirty minutes after, I realised that the television channel that I was watching started to show the news and they gave just an short introduction and told to the viewers that all information will be available on their website or the evening news. This experience taught me that the access to the internet is very helpful to people.

In sum, though some may believe that access to much information creates problem, the internet can provide a lot of valuable information to people.