The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter from a homeowner to a friend presents how two leading real state firms, the Adams Realty and the Fitch Realty, work, showing and comparing the number of agents, time to sell a house and the price that a home sale could have.

In the first place, the letter gives the information that Adams has more agents than Fitch, which the first one have forty real estate agents, whereas the second one has only twenty five and most of them are only part-time agents. This information is vital to explain why the revenue of Adams Realty was two times bigger than the Fitch Realty. In addition, an average sales on Adams has also a high value when compared with Fitch and, futhermore, a house listed on Adams is capable of selling easily than Fitch.

A company that have more employees is capable of generating more sells and is more competitive on the market. On the other hand, this could generate an excess of people, gerenerating unused member. However, that is not the reality from the town of the homeowner, at least, when the two companies are compared. Twenty five part-time agents are showing an defict of productivity in the Fitch Realty firm. Their staff is not capable of making the house sells in the same speed of Adams, and due to this fact, the costumers are prefering selling their houses on Adams Realty.

Moreover, Adams Realty created a more prestigious company on the market, that alows to them to sells theirs houses with a bigger price. That work in the same way of clothing sells, like “Nike” or “Levis” have a famous label, so people trust on their products and they can increase the final value of their sells, even if it’s higher than they realy are. The same is happening with Adams, how they have more employees and they capable of selling houses in a fast way, people are choosing their services even they increase the price of the sells.

In adittion, it’s not clear in the letter if that bigger price is passed to the houseowner. The writer just compares the final price of home sales, however, it is expected that the Adams Realty have a bigger commision in the final value than the Fitch Realty, because Adams have more employees than Realty, giving to them a higher cost on the end of the month. Therefore, the owner needs to evaluate if a bigger comission is worth.

In conclusion, the letter compares data from two firms that sells houses in a same town. It seems that Adams Realty have more interesting sells because of their bigger number of agents and that could created on the market a more known company than Fitch. At the same time, the letter doesn’t show any other information of the firm’s commision, so the higher average sales price of Adams might be also from bigger taxes that the costumers need to pay to the company. In other words, it’s important to evaluate all the aspects of a company in order to give an final score to then. In that case, some assumptions was made, but even with that, the Adams Realty realy like to be a better company than Fitch Realty.