The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College presents the concerning from the college about their dormitories. The statement affirms that is expected a growing in number of enrolments, reaching two times the actual value over the next 50 years. In addition, the average rent for an apartment in the city has risen in recent years. Nevertheless, they are expecting to build new rooms in a way to attract more students to enroll at Buckingham. Although this is a important action performed by the college there are further aspects that need to be evaluated.

In the first place, there is no information about the actual status of the Buckinham’s dormitories. We can expect two realities, one is that all rooms all full and the other is that the dormitories are populated with few students. In the first aspect, an urgent action ought to be made in order to supply the demand of new students, which the building of new room or a new entire building should be expected. Otherwise, if the housing are not fully used, the college might use a different approach and for a short-time it will be not necessary the addition of more rooms, maybe just a renovation or a incentive for the students to use them are already sufficient.

Furthermore, the memo doesn’t shows reliable data concerned about the number of new dormitories expected to be built. If all the space are being actually used and the college knows that the number of students will double over the next 50 years, it is necessary the creation of a plan to build at least the same amount of rooms which exist nowadays. However, in a worst case scenario, there will be necessary even more rooms, due to the increase of the city’s rent price. Where, in that case, students that actually are living in the town will stating moving to the student housing.

Moreover, it is necessary to evaluate if the dormitories are one of the main reason or if it will in fact increase the interest of students in enrolling at Buckingham. A good way to research that if looking from the hometown of the majority of the students. If we have the case that a great number of pupils come from the town and are living with their relatives, the construction of new dormitories will be a waste of money, first because they will be not used by the students and second because they will not be a reason to attract new ones.

In summary, the college need to acquire more specific data about the actual status of theirs dormitories. If it is verified that the construction of a new housing will be really necessary, it will be needed to create a plan and specify the number of new rooms which will be constructed, in the case that the current housing is already full of students, it will be necessary to, at least, double the number of places, without counting the migration of students from the city to the college due to the increase of rent values. In the end, the college also might visualise if the construction of a new house will in fact attract more students otherwise it will be just a waste of space and money.