The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the preceding statement, the author contends that based on his recent interviews the theory proposed by Dr. Field that children in Tertia were reared by the entire village rather than by their own biological parents is untrue. Though his claim may well have merit, the anthropologist presents a poorly reasoned argument, based on several questionable premises and assumptions. Regarding solely on the evidences the author offers, we cannot accept his argument as valid. Hence, his conclusion is weak and unconvincing, with several flaws.

The primary issue with the doctor’s reasoning lies in his unsubstantiated premises. The author cites the interviews of Tertia children as the basis of his argument that they were in fact created by their biological parents. However, the scope and validity of the interviews is at issue. The article does not give any indication as to the real reasons for which the questions were conducted. For example, the interview could have focused on talking about children’s relatives, in this way, the expect answer is that they will talk more about their parents rather then about other adults in the village. Also, the sample may not have been representative of the Tertia inhabitants, as stated by the article, these intervews were conducted at multiple islands. Unless the survey is truly representative for Tertia, it cannot be used by the author to effectively back his statements. Therefore, Dr. Karp’s premises lack any legitimate evidentiary support and thereby render his conclusion unacceptable.

In addition, the article makes several assumptions that remain unproven. The author implies that because of his conclusions, the Dr. Field’s research about the Tertian cultures is also invalid. The article wrongly assumes that culture and education methods are intimately related. This assumption may fail if the team of graduate students reach the same conclusion obtained by Dr. Field. Consequently, children being rared by their parents or the entire village have not effect on their culture. The doctor weakens his argument by making assumptions and failing to provide explication of the links between creating and culture he assumes exist.

While the argument has key issues in the premises and assumptions made by the author, it is not to say that the entire argument is without a base. For example, before starting the interviews, the author could have focused his questions asking directly to the children if they were rared by their parents or not. It would a matter of “yes” or “no”, instead the assumption he mad based only on the frequency that the young talked about their people. He could have also surveyed if the style of education affects the general culture of the place. Though there are several issue with the Dr. Karp’s reasoning at present, with research and clarification, he could improve his argument significantly.

In sum, the article’s illogical argument is based on unsupported premises and unsubstantiated assumptions that render his conclusion invalid. The author needs to revisit the research and analisys done for Tertia children and refine the suggestion proposed by him. If the doctor truly hopes to change the reader’s mind on the issue, he would have to largely restructure his arguments, fix the flaws in his logic, clearly explicate his assumptions and provide evidentiary support. Without these, his poorly reasoned argument is unlikely to convince many people.