Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed (damaged) by human activity. Others feel that human activity makes the Earth a better place to live. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Our home planet, the Earth, is crucial part of our lives. It where we born, we grow up and we probably will die too. Some people would believe that human activity is making the Earth a better place to live; others would disagree. In my view, the Earth is being severely harmed by human activity for two important reasons.

The main reason is that the atmosphere temperature is increasing year after year. The global warming is not a new concept for scientists. The constant increase of harmful gases, such as carbon dioxide and monoxide is very dangerous for the environment. These gases are creating the called “greenhouse effect”, where the Earth’s temperature is becoming higher in an uncontrolled way. For example, I remember seeing on television last week, a documentary about the climate change on our planet. They showed a graph indicating the mean temperature in the last century. From 1000 to about 1800 the increase was about half degrees celsius per decade but, after the industrial revolution, the temperature variation started raising to an actual level of four degrees per decade. The researchers stated that the Earth did not saw a big increase since the primordial ages before life. Also, they claimed that if nations remain with the actual levels of pollution, all the life could be extinct in the next one thousand years. As you can see, scientific data are showing that the Earth is really being harmed by us.

Another reason is the increasing of devastated forests levels. Many people who live in the Amazon forest area are starting to feel the changes due to the reduction of green areas. The worldwide vegetation is very important for the Earth’s equilibre and it is very sensible for any changes. For instance, I’m living in Brazil and I have a friend called Fabio from Manaus. This city was constructed almost in the middle of the jungle. Fabio told me about his childhood when he always played with his friends in the Amazon forest. He explained that they need to walk about five minutes from his home to reach the trees. Conversely, nowadays it is impossible to go to any green are within a two hours walking. He stated that wood companies totally devastated any green area close to Manaus in the last five years, the lack of surveillance and police force helped these people to advance inside the forest with tractors and chainsaw without any problem. He also told me that when he was a child, it was very easy to see very beautiful and exotic birds, like tucanos and araras, but now they completely disappeared. This experience taught me that the human activity also could be felt by normal people.

In sum, though some may opposes the statement, the damage on the Earth is real. Not only the temperature is increasing very rapidly but also our forests are being destructed. Everyone should try to introduce in their lives some activities to curb the harm that we are causing to the Earth.