Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Our childhood is a very important part of our lives. It is the time that we start discovering the world, instigating our imagination and playing with all sort of thing that we find. Some people would believe that television advertising directed towards children aged from two to five should be allowed; other would disagree. In my view these type of merchandising should be prohibited for two important reasons.

The main reason is that young children are very vulnerable. Children from two to five years old are not able to know if an information is dangerous or not. In that age they are only concerned about colorful things to play and everything could became a suitable toy. For example, I remember a history that my mother also told me. When I was a four years old, there was a television advertising about a new candy directed to children. The problem with this was that the container was very similar to medicines' packages. They were a small white cylinder and even the cap was the same used in medicines. The result of that is that a lot of children were eating their parents' medicines thinking that they were sweet candy. The result of that was the death of almost one hundred children on the entire country and the prohibition of food advertising to children. This event clearly demonstrated that this kind of advertising should not be allowed.

Another reason is that parents need to be aware of the television's content. Television advertising directed to young children could be from a large range of products, from toys to food. In that way, parents were not able to predict what a television channel will show to their children. For instance, last week, I was watching the Cartoon Network channel with my young cousin Peter. He was born with diabetes and he cannot eat any amount of sugar. During the merchandising time there were a lot of advertising about soft drinks and chocolate. So, I called my uncle and showed to him. For my surprise, he was not aware of these type of advertisement, he thought that the content of the channel were only about the cartoon that my cousin loves. He explained that this happen also one time with YouTube, Peter was watching cartoons and an advertising about sweet food was presented to him and he cried for an entire week. This experience taught me that television advertising should be prohibited because it can be dangerous to children.

In sum, though some may believe that there are no problems with television advertising directed towards would children, I believe that it should not be allowed. Not only children aged two to five are vulnerable but also parents might be aware of what is being presented to their children. Every place should work to decrease the amount of television advertising directed to children.