The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The topic raises a widely debated topic about the movies ratings provided by reviews and quantity of viewers. Indisputably, good reviews will attract more viewers to the theaters. Nevertheless, there should be more factors included there are not explored by the Super Screen Movie Production Company to de fact that people are not going to see its movies even with good reviews. Thus, I disagree with the fact that the main issue is the lack advertising from the newest realised movies.

First of all, the main problem could be within the theaters itself and not with the movie company. Numerous factors such as ticket prices, the movie’s available hours or number of places that the movie are being displayed. For instance, the movies might be available only on formats that are normally more expensive, included 3D or IMAX technology. In this way, the public could be preferring other “normal” releases that are cheaper. Also, considering that fact that the movies use those formats, not all theaters will be equiped to play them. In addition, the movies will be competing with other 3D ones, lowering the hours daily section available to the public. Consequently, the movies are already targeting fewer viewers, helping to create such low number of people that are attending the Super Screen-produced movies.

Secondly, another issue with the movies might be the content. Storylines that pleases the critics are normally the ones that the general public dislikes. It is not difficult to find a lot of “cult” or “indie” movies which have a 10/10 rating but a lot of people have never heard about them. Therefore, the company could try to create more friendly movies to try attract a different niche of people. They should find a balance between critics and viewers, even if a low grade accredited by the critics the movies might attract more people and thereby more revenue for the company.

Admittedly, the common sense shows that critics and quantity viewers at intimately related. Conversely, the movies company are experiencing the opposite and they need to try to revert that. The solution of increasing the budget creating more advertising may sound plausible. However, the conclusion above lacks more evidence that this is in fact the real problem and if the merchandising did not work the company could be in serious trouble. Therefore, the most conservative short-term solution should be perform further analysis to confirm the recommendation that they concluded.

In sum, although reaching more people with merchandising sounds a good solution, it could tend to veer off in irrelevant directions. Before spending more money on that, the company should evaluate all possibilities, including issues with the theaters and rating based on their general public and not only on specialized movie reviewers. Only after creating a concrete solution, the company would be able to focus their efforts more efficiently.