The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter sent to the Balmer Island Gazette shows the Balmer Island’s town council action to reduce the accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians during summer, which in this time the population can have an increase of 100,000 people. The solution found by the town council is to limit the rental companies to rent from 50 to 25 mopeds during the summer months in order to decrease the accidents numbers. Althought this might be an easy solution, it is just a temporary short-time solution that will never really solve the problem.

The reduction of the mopeds in the streets of Balmer Island certainly will decrease the number of accidents, it is just a matter of probability. If the city reduce the number of vehicles on the street, is expected that the total amount of accidents will also reduce.However, this is a poorly solution adopted by the city’s council and a lot of adjacent problems could surge derived from the reduction of mopeds.

In the first place, the reduction of the vehicles will generate a logistic problem in the island. The letter only indicates that the number of mopeds will be reduced, but there is not another act from the town council to supply this deficit of transport. For example, more buses or taxis need to be in circulation in order to supply the transport demand. So, this act from the council ought have a complementation in order to be effective.

Furthermore, the letter to the editor affirms that the island have always an increase of population during summer months. Although it is not specified by the exert where this people came from, there is a big probability that they are turist. The decrease of means of transport allied with a logistic crisis could discourage the touristic immigration, adding more economic problem to the natives from the island.

Also, another tactic should be used by the council. A more extensive surveillance of the streets and highways of the island, putting more police officers or speed regulators is also a short-time solution that is highly more effective. The paper of the city is to create laws in order to develop and increase the life’s quality of the native and visitors and not to restrict their liberty because of administration’s problems.

In conclusion, the solution found by the town council to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrian is very superficial and could bring even bigger problems, like the decrease of tourism and transport problems in the island. One way to solve this issue without compromising the Balmer’s logistic is adopt a more effective control of the traffic or the increase of public transport vehicles to supply the demand with the reduction of mopeds.