In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement claims that it is impossible to achieve some contribution without regarding the past achievements which concern these field. Although this sounds a little bit extreme at a first glance, its describes exactly the way that the things evolves in the world.

In the first place, everything that is created come from somewhere, without exception. For example, when we think in a discovery very primitive, the first thought that come in mind is the creation/discovery of fire by our ancestors. Even, these primitive people haven’t discovered anything close to fire before that event, they are influenced by natural events which could be occurred, like an lightning who puts fire in a tree, and then they firstly saw that this strange hot event could be useful for cooking or hunting, giving a strong motif to these people to try to reproduce that element.

Moreover, in more moderns times, we can take the example of the “space race” during the cold war. The Apollo 11 was far from being the first spaceship ever made and tested. There were numerous project that preceded the greatest achievement of the first man on the Moon. Every tests contributed for creating small pieces of data that after a long time could be agglutinate into a very big knowledge used by the last missions. It is also important to say that these achievements are timeless, even the most ancient discoveries and data are being used nowadays. As Elon Musk one time said, the first books that he started to read in the beginning of SpaceX were very old engineering books, like “Structures: Or Why Things Don't Fall Down” written in the 1960s.

Furthermore, we can apply this concept to the way which the contemporary society works. The history of the mankind is largely used to help the development of world nations. In almost the entire world that is used, since the ancient greek times, the concept of democracy. Also the basis of the constitution and fundamental laws come from this epoch. Showing that without thinking every around us are influenced by past, and seldom very old, achievements which were proved to be useful.

In that words, we can acknowledge that with no past achievements it is impossible to make significant contribution in our society, and that work with all fields of endeavor. Since technology to laws, everything have your background based on previous events.