The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter to the editor written by a Central Plaza store owner affirms that the number of stores in Central Plaza has decreased due to the increase of skateboarding activity. Furtermore, the shoppers related an increase of litter and vandalism, and due to this fact, they asking to the city to prohibit the skaters in order to solve this problem.

In the first place, the letter shows only one side view of the problem. The Central Plaza store owner belives that the skateboarding activity is the main source of the decrease in the number of shoppers, but a more aspects also need to be evaluated and are not content of the letter.

The decrease of the shopping activity in Central Plaza could be explained by an economical crisis that is afecting this city. Normally, this type of crisis is slow, which is represented by the time of two years that the letter afirms. The letter doesn’t indicates the exact year that it is talking about, but is possible to place this event, for example, at the “real state crisis” that ocurred in 2007 due to the US housing bubble, showing that the decrease of the number of shoppers in Central Plaza came from economical problems and not for skateboarding activity.

Moreover, the increase of skateboarding might an effect of the decrease of the number of shopper and not the contrary. In a place where the flux of people is decreasing and abandoned imobles are showing up, for example the abandoned stores that could appear in Central Plaza, is the perfect place to bring activities like skateboarding, litter and vandalism. After that, a “snowball effect” could start, where the popularity of skateboarding in that place is increasing more and more and the fear of the shoppers increases also more and more, deacreasing the shopping activity.

Under thoses circunstances, it’s not wrong that the store owner asks for help to the city, but he/she need to understand that the skateboarding acticity could be the wrong cause of this effect and the act of curb the skaters probably will not return the number of shoppers to high levels, but will only create an empty place with anyone.

In conclusion, the city and the stores owners need to study deeply the source of problem that are decreasing the number of shoppers in Central Place. Judging that the skateboarding activity is the main cause of the crisis is very superficial and unreal. Maybe an economical aid plan created by the city’s mayor or a reduction of taxes could be more effective to the return of the high number of shoppers in Central Place than just prohibiting the skateboarding activity.