Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends are a very important part of our lives. They are the people which we will talk about all sort of subjects, from sports to serious one. Some people would believe that making new friends is very important; others would disagree. In my view, it is more important to keep our old friends for two important reasons.

The main reason is that old friends will last forever in our lives. In order to create a strong relationship with friends, time is a crucial variable. There are a lot people that we met in our childhood, but the ones which we stay in touch will probably become the most influential people in our lives. For example, I have two friends of mine and they are called John and Peter. I know them since I was a child. Indeed, one of the first memories that I have are playing with them in my old school. Moreover, I have never stopped talking with them and they are my best friends after twenty five years. Although we live now in separate cities, when we come back in holidays, we are always hanging out together. Also, we have a group on Whatsapp that we talked almost every day about our lives. Likewise, they send to me a very pretty message wishing good luck for my TOEFL exam today. This people clearly demonstrated that old friends are very important to maintain.

Another reason is that old friends are reliable. Considering a person as a friend is a very thick line. We can talk to someone for two or three hours in a bar and consider a friend, but also we can know someone for a long time but never considered a real friend. For instance, I remember when I was in college and I met a guy in an engineering conference. His name was Fabio and he presented a very interesting project about autonomous airplanes and drones. On the next day, I accidentally found Fabio drinking a beer in the college's bar. I seated next to him and we started discussing about the presentation. We talked a long time and I took Fabio's phone number. After some weeks, I called Fabio to go to a nearby pub and then he presented to me a new innovative project that he was working with and asked if I could borrow five hundred dollar to help him. As I'm already considering Fabio a friend of mine I give the money without hesitation. So, Fabio disappeared on the next week, I tried to call him but he did not answered me. One day, another friend of mine, told me a very similar history about the same person and we realized that he stole our money and there is not a new project. Also the company that he told us did not even exist. This experience taught me that old friends could be better to our life than new ones.

In sum, though some may belive that making new friends is better, I guarantee that keeping the old ones are the more important. Not only they could be present in almost our entire lives but also they are more reliable. Everyone should work to maintain old friends than to concern about making new ones.