Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People behave differently when they wear different clothes. Do you agree that different clothes influence the way people behave? Use specific examples to support your answer.

The clothes that we use is a very important part of your everyday lives. It is what we use as a form of being more beautiful or presentable to other people. The claim that different clothes influence the way people behave, I’m sure some people would agree with it; other would disagree. In my view, in fact people behave differently when they wear different clothes for two important reasons.

The main reason is that clothes show which group you belong. Many people wear their clothes to indicate that they are from a specific social class or religion. In that case, the way which they behave will directly indicate the behavior of the whole group. Also, people could assume what the person’s behavior will be just looking to his clothes. For example, I remember that I saw last week, on television, a social experiment that a person tried to book a room in a five stars hotel. First, the actor was using very cheap clothes, I could see that there were a lot of holes and dirty on his t-shirt. When he arrived that the hotel’s reception, immediately a staff member tried to push, in a very rude way, the actor to go outside and to never return. The staff also mention that he will call the police. On the next day, the actor changed his clothes to a very fashion one. In that time, the man entered without being noted by the employees and received a very polite treatment. As you can see, the clothes that the man was wearing showed to other people what they could expect to his behavior based on their status, even without the actor saying or doing anything.

Another reason is that the clothing might indicate the job of the person. In almost every place, people use clothes to show their function in a specific place. This could be from the color of a vest or an entire costume. In that way, they need to behave regarding their position. For instance, I have a friend called John and he is a police officer for about ten years now. John is a very spontaneous person, he is also telling jokes an laughing. However, one day I encountered my friend working as a police officer in my city’s main street. I went to talk to him, but he was very serious and barely talked to me. On the next day, John went to my house to apologise and explained to me that he needs to behave in a complete different form when he is dressed with the enforcement suit. Also, he told me that it is a basic rule for police officers. This experience taught me that the clothe which a person is using might represent an obligation to what type of behavior he needs to take.

In sum, though some may disagree with this claim, I believe that the clothes we wear will influence directly our behavior. Not only showing our circle of people but also indicating our job or function. Everyone should work to understand that a t-shirt might represent more than just a color or an image printed on it.