Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Things that we enjoy doing are a very important part of our lives. It is the time that we use to alleviate the everyday stress and increase our quality of live. Some people would believe that nowadays the society have a good balance between personal enjoyment-doing things and important things that we should do; others would disagree. In my view, today people spend too much time on personal things for two important reasons.

The main reason is the large number of people using their cellphones. It is not difficult to find people on work using their smartphones frenetically. Every time someone is checking their social media account, creating stories or texting his/her friend on time that they were expected to be doing other more important tasks. For example, last week, when I was in my hometown, I went to a department store called "Gigabyte" and I was trying to find a new laptop charger because my old one was broken. I searched for about ten minutes and I was not able to find it. In that way, I tried to talk with the store's owner. When I was talking to him, he did not even looked at me. He was always looking to his phone and I could see that he was liking photos on Instagram. After I finished asking about the charger he just pointed on a random direction where the charger could be. So, I went to the pointed place and, as expected, I could not find the product and I leave the store very upset. This event clearly demonstrated that today people prefer to spend time on personal things rather than doing things they should have been doing.

Another reason is about the human's nature to do things that are easier. We also have a word to describe this behavior and it is called "procrastination". People tend to procrastinate in every task they do, we could also find people that prefer to just sleep or watch television instead of doing personal enjoyment thing such as playing video games or going to the gym. Hence, we can imagine what people are able to mitigate things that they should do. For instance, I remember when I was in my professional internship people. Normally, I worked seven hours per day. When I arrived at home the only thing that wanted to do was to lay down on my bed and watch Youtube videos. But, I have a lot of domestic things to do, like to wash the dishes and remove the trash and I always chose to procrastinate. When the weekend arrived my apartment was a very dirty and also stating to smell not so good. So, when the situation was unsustainable, I finally cleaned the mess. This experience taught me that we spend a lot of time doing superfluous rather than important ones.

In sum, though some may believe that personal enjoyment-doing things do not interfere in our life. I belive that today we spend to much time on these things. Not only people are using their phones excessively nowadays but also it is from our natural behavior to prefer to do more enjoyable tasks. Every one should work to diminish the amount of time that they spend on useless taks and give more focus to what they should be doing.