Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The quality of life is a very important part of our lives. It is what makes possible to us to have a good and comfortable life, without complaining about trivial problems. Some people would believe that the live when our grandparents were children were easier; other would disagree. In my view, the today's life is more comfortable for two important reasons.

The main reason is that nowadays it is easier to find all sort of products. When we go to a supermarket we could find any product that we want, even the most exotic ones from overseas countries. This aspect is very new for the society that probably started on our parents generation. In that way, we could imagine how hard was to find and purchase basic products on our grandparents time. For example, I remember a story that my grandfather told to me when I was young. He and family lived on a small farm located in Brazil. They had a very simple life, planting and trading with neighbors all the food they need. On time at the christmas evening, he and my grandmother decided to give a gift to my dad, a Coke bottle. He told me that on the day before he took a bus to travel three hundred kilometers to go to Sao Paulo, the biggest city on the state. It was an entire day journey to just find a Coke bottle on that time and today we can find one in virtually any store that we go. This event clearly demonstrated that the life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when our grandparents were children.

Another reason is that today we have electricity. It could sound strange to us to live without electricity. We all know that the light bulb was discovered by Thomas Edison on the 1800s, but just on the first years of the twenty century that in fact they started to be used. For instance, my grandfather also always told me a story explaining how they stored meal without a fridge. When they killed a cow, for example, it was a lot of meat that could last for months, so they need to conserve that, indeed there were two different methods available on that time. The first one was to use a lot of salt. This method helps to delay the meat decomposing, but when they want to eat, it was necessary an entire day to remove the salt leaving the meat inside a big reservoir of water. Another method was to use pork fat. This fat could also conserve the meal and it was easier to remove, but it was useful for less time when compared to salt. Today, we used a fridge and we do not even think about how easy is to conserve meat in our time. This experience taught me that life is very much easier today when compared with our grandparents time.

In sum, though some may believe before the life was easier, today we have a very easy and comfortable quality of life. Not only we can easily find any product that we want but also we have electricity to help in our daily tasks. Everyone should try to live for one day without a supermarket and electricity to see how difficult it will be.