Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news sources.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Being well-informed is crucial for our lives. It is when we know about the facts that are happening in the world, which some of them could directly affect our lives. Some people would believe that using only one news source is enough to be well-informed; other would disagree. In my view, getting information from many different news sources is mandatory to be well-informed for two important reasons.

The main reason is that we can get different points of view. In order to create an unbiased summary about an information it is very important to use different sources. Today we have almost an infinite number of places that we can read or watch news, coming from mainstream medias to independent ones. Also, it is possible to classify them about their views, such as left- or right-wings of thought. For example, there is a very controversial change that politics in my country are trying to approve. It is about the reduction of cost from the public retirement system. Nowadays, my country is spending almost one quarter of tax's revenue to pay retirement. In that way, there are a lot of different opinions about that. The more traditional media is against this change because they say that it will increase the age that workers will be able to retire. Conversely, more independent media, like youtube and facebook channels are supporting this reform, they claim that it will increase the public investment on more important areas, such as health and education. In that way, using differents sources I was able to create a very broad image from the situation and, in fact, I believe that this change will be good to my nation. So, I have a different opinion from majority of the television and newspaper sources. This event clearly demonstrated that in order to be well-informed, we need to get information from many different sources.

Another reason is that we could discover more reliable news sources. Many people just stay with one or two sources of news. However, we can find a lot of very interesting ones just searching for information. For instance, my parents for almost twenty years used the same newspaper as their main source of information. However, on the last months they are complaining that the news are becoming very superficial, without the same depth that they read on the early versions. Therefore, they bought a different newspaper from another company to try out. For their surprise the new one was very good, indeed it was better than the old model that they always liked. In conclusion, nowadays they stopped using the first newspaper and are only buying the new source that they discovered. This experience taught me that is very important to get information from many different news sources.

In sum, though some may believe that getting information just from one reliable news source is enough, I believe that using many different sources is better. Not only we can create an unbiased view about the news but also we could find new sources of information. Everyone should work to introduce more news sources in their lives to see all the benefits that this act could bring.