Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The topic raises the widely debated issue of political leaders versus public opinion. Indisputably, politicians are the representation of the public and they need to follow the public desire, listening for the complaints and suggestion that are directed to them. Nevertheless, the political sphere is a dangerous enviroment, with a lot of biased people that are just trying to demolish a certain figure reputation and will do that regardless verifying the job that have been done. Thus, I agree with the fact that an effective leader, especially political, should remain consistently committed to his/her particular principles and objectives.

First of all, we choose our representatives based on the promises that are closest to our beliefs. If after being elected the leader change all the objectives based on public opinion, the real voters are being deceived and even if the politician will finish with a good reputation on the next election probably he/she will be not elected. As a result, people will be afraid of trusting their votes listening to the leader’s principles because they will know that it could change at any time. Consequently, choosing a good political leader will be equal to rolling dices.

Secondly, the opposition will surely focus their attention on politicians that are more susceptible to abandon the principles based on public opinion. For instance, the actual world is passing by a period that extremes leaders are dividing the public opinion. We could cite the presidents of numerous countries, such as the US, Brazil and France. In that way, people that are against the leader will always criticize their action and vice-versa. Therefore, the word “opinion” is not valid any more, they will be just deliberate criticism or support. If the president starts to change his principles a very dangerous situation could emerge on these places.

Admittedly, it is mandatory that political leaders should listen to the public opinion. However, the argument above is too broad to constitute a sufficient support. The political world is highly complex and there is not a success rule to create a perfect leader. Each place is a completely different situation and might be analysed case a case. However, in general words, the most safe action to follow is to firstly maintain the principles and objectives constant.

In sum, although it is important to political leader to mold their work based on public opinion, they also tend to veer off in irrelevant directions. As long as the politician maintains a balanced government and can be able to filter unbiased opinions, we expect an effective job. However, if it is not the case, the leaders should maintain their particular principles in order to preserve the order on the society that they managing for.