To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement is trying to focus in the fact that the major cities might represent the most important charactristics of an entire society. On these cities there is the biggest populational concentration, and for the aspect of a population that represents the society, the major cities could shows all the problems with an easier way.

When an company needs to make a referendum, they will try to interview many people as possible. So the biggest cities are the perfect place to achieve the highest population. Furthermore, studying a population concentrated in the same area is easier than make the same study in different places getting data from less sources. Another key point is that the population of a major city also represents the people from the countryside or another states, there is always a person that leaves your small city to find a new job on the bigger cities, as well someone that go to the major cities to make a graduation course.

Moreover, the characteristics that the statement tells are amplified in a place with a bigger population. The social problems, like poverty, drugs and violence are more evident in major cities when compared with the smaller ones and that afirmation is valid for all aspects. It’s easier to see that watching the daily news, which the most relevant cases come from the most important cities (the major cities).

In conclusion, the major cities hold the most dense area of population that could be originated form all over the country, in other words, this place is able to represent in a very good way the behaivior of a society and its most important characteristics.